Green Meat? by Ryan M. Katz-Rosene

Green Meat? by Ryan M. Katz-RoseneAre you a meat eater with a guilty conscience? What does a "sustainable diet" look like? What is the impact of lab-grown meat? Enter to win a copy of "Green Meat?" to explore the many options and perspectives that address the carnivore's dilemma in the twenty-first century.

3

Categories: asia

The Light of Days by Judy Batalion

The Light of Days by Judy BatalionEnter to win 1 of 50 advance reader's editions of Judy Batalion's The Light of Days, a spectacular, searing history that uncovers the story of Jewish women resistance fighters--now optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture.

As revelatory as Hidden Figures and propulsively thrilling as Band of Brothers, The Light of Days tells the incredible true story of the heroic women who led the Jewish resistance movement.

Witnesses to the brutal murder of their families and neighbors and the violent destruction of their communities, a cadre of Jewish women in Poland—some still in their teens—helped transform the Jewish youth groups into resistance cells to fight the Nazis. With courage, guile, and nerves of steel, these “ghetto girls” paid off Gestapo guards, hid revolvers in loaves of bread and jars of marmalade, and helped build systems of underground bunkers. They flirted with German soldiers, bribed them with wine, whiskey, and home cooking, used their Aryan looks to seduce them, and shot and killed them. They bombed German train lines and blew up a town’s water supply. They also nursed the sick and taught children.

Yet the exploits of these courageous resistance fighters have remained virtually unknown. Until now. Writer Judy Batalion, the granddaughter of Polish Holocaust survivors, delivers an unforgettable tale of war, bravery, friendship, and survival.

“[A] resounding history.” — Kirkus (Starred Review)

2

Categories: division

The Oracle Code by Marieke Nijkamp

The Oracle Code by Marieke NijkampEnter for a chance to win one of 10 first edition copies of The Oracle Code!

Written by New York Times bestselling author Marieke Nijkamp and illustrated by Manuel Preitano, The Oracle Code follows Barbara Gordon as she enters the Arkham Center for Independence, where Gotham's teens undergo physical and mental rehabilitation.

Barbara must adapt to a new normal, but she cannot shake the feeling that something is dangerously amiss. Barbara begins to put together pieces of what she believes to be a larger puzzle. But is this suspicion simply a result of her trauma? Universal truths cannot be escaped, and Barbara must battle the phantoms of her past before they swarm her future.

7

Categories: racing

Do Nothing by Celeste Headlee

Do Nothing by Celeste HeadleeEnter for a chance to win one of 50 copies of DO NOTHING by Celeste Headlee.

“This book is so important and could truly save lives. Despite working harder than ever, people have never been more depressed, anxious, and unhappy. Without a doubt, our modern way of life is not working. In fact, it’s killing us. But what is to be done? With intelligence and compassion, Headlee presents realistic solutions for how we can reclaim our health and our humanity from a technological revolution that seems hell-bent on destroying both. I’m so grateful to have read this book. It delivers on its promise of a better life.”—Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Big Magic and Eat Pray Love

10

Categories: dictionaries

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly RimmerEnter to win 1 of 25 Advanced Reader Copies of Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer!

“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author.” —Sally Hepworth, bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives

From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true.

With her father recently moved to a care facility, Beth Walsh volunteers to clear out the family home and is surprised to discover the door to her childhood playroom padlocked. She’s even more shocked at what’s behind it—a hoarder’s mess of her father’s paintings, mounds of discarded papers and miscellaneous junk in the otherwise fastidiously tidy house.

As she picks through the clutter, she finds a loose journal entry in what appears to be her late mother’s handwriting. Beth and her siblings grew up believing their mother died in a car accident when they were little more than toddlers, but this note suggests something much darker.

Beth soon pieces together a disturbing portrait of a woman suffering from postpartum depression and a husband who bears little resemblance to the loving father Beth and her siblings know. With a newborn of her own and struggling with motherhood, Beth finds there may be more tying her and her mother together than she ever suspected.

PLEASE NO PO BOXES

3

Categories: transgender-romance

The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda

The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda**A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick and New York Times bestseller**

“Once again, Megan Miranda has crafted the perfect summer thriller.” —Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Time I Lied

The summer after a wealthy young summer guest dies under suspicious circumstances, her best friend lives under a cloud of grief and suspicion in this “clever, stylish mystery that will seize readers like a riptide” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) featuring “dizzying plot twists and multiple surprise endings” (The New York Times Book Review).

Littleport, Maine, has always felt like two separate towns: an ideal vacation enclave for the wealthy, whose summer homes line the coastline; and a simple harbor community for the year-round residents whose livelihoods rely on service to the visitors.

Typically, fierce friendships never develop between a local and a summer girl—but that’s just what happens with visitor Sadie Loman and Littleport resident Avery Greer. Each summer for almost a decade, the girls are inseparable—until Sadie is found dead. While the police rule the death a suicide, Avery can’t help but feel there are those in the community, including a local detective and Sadie’s brother, Parker, who blame her. Someone knows more than they’re saying, and Avery is intent on clearing her name, before the facts get twisted against her.

8

Categories: angola

The Time Seer by Richard Phillips

The Time Seer by Richard PhillipsFulfilling a prophecy to save the world can drive a young woman mad as the enthralling epic fantasy series continues.

Carol Rafel knows the lengths to which the sorcerer Kragan will go to impede the fulfillment of her prophecy: destroy the wielder of necrotic magic before she destroys him. Never far from Kragan’s evil grasp, she is struck down by his wicked spell.

Carol’s assassin husband, Arn, has no choice but to cast aside his precious weapon to embrace a more powerful one: the clairvoyance he shares with Carol. With time-sights linked, they must now rely on the dreamscapes of their minds to track Kragan into the shadows as he nears his own invaluable weapon: the legendary shattered trident, which will ensure him godlike powers. But Carol and Arn’s visions come at a cost. Pursuit into such abominable darkness is leading to madness.

As Kragan’s armies amass for a raging war between good and evil, Carol fears that the ancient prophecy she’s been chosen to bear out may be impossible to survive.

6

Categories: nigeria

Anyone Can Make It To The Top by David Oliver

Anyone Can Make It To The Top by David        OliverEnter for a chance to win one of the 15 signed copies of the motivational book Anyone Can Make It To The Top by Dr. Ollie. Learns the tricks of the rich and famous. Then push yourself to reach higher and achieve more. Other readers are making it to the top, and so can you.

4

Categories: grad-school

Flash Crash by Liam Vaughan

Flash Crash by Liam Vaughan*READ IT BEFORE THE MOVIE!*

Soon to be a movie starting Dev Patel, FLASH CRASH is the riveting true story story of a trading prodigy who amassed $70 million from his childhood bedroom—until the US government accused him of helping trigger an unprecedented market collapse.

PRAISE FOR FLASH CRASH:
"Navinder Sarao's story struck us deeply. He's an unlikely but also complex hero who exposed the manipulations at the heart of the global financial system."
—Iain Canning and Emile Sherman, producers of forthcoming FLASH CRASH film, in a statement via The Hollywood Reporter

“An elegant and fast-paced narrative about one of the more obscure and mysterious financial anomalies. Through meticulous reporting and a gripping story, Vaughan has filled in many of the missing pieces. You won’t be able to put it down.”
—William D. Cohan, author of Four Friends and House of Cards

“The definitive account of one of the most mysterious events in the recent history of financial markets…Flash Crash tells the irresistible personal tale of the unlikely character—finance whiz, social misfit, brazen cheater, folk hero, fraud victim—who finds himself at the center of a vast global scandal.”
—David Enrich, author of Dark Towers and The Spider Network

7

Categories: railways

In the Bleak Midwinter by Liam O'Shiel

In the Bleak Midwinter by Liam O'Shiel"In the Bleak Midwinter" extends the dramatic story begun in "Eirelan." The great and bloody battle of Mhisteala saved the Province from the Ghaoth Aduaidh, and the Santander sea raiders have been defeated, but now a new and more dangerous Germanic enemy, the Norfrielanders, is threatening the entire Celtic world with conquest and enslavement. Join Feth, Sean, Conor, Padraic, Mairin, Liadan, Uinseann, Richard, Arvel, and all the rest as their saga of cultural survival continues amidst the bitter cold of winter.

3

Categories: traditional-regency

Code of Honor by April White

Code of Honor by April WhiteAUTOGRAPHED COPY
Release date: March, 23 2020

-What: Win a print, autographed copy of ‘Code of Honor' book #2 in the Cipher Security Series by April White

-Who: Fans of romantic suspense, action, and art heists...

-Where: Here!

-When: From now until April 1st!

-How: Enter through Goodreads

-Why: Because who doesn't like paperbacks?!

6

Categories: world-of-darkness